J. Rucker Newbery Service Award

This award is presented in honor of the founder of the Bob White Lodge, who was also a former Scout Executive of the Georgia-Carolina Council. Chief Newbery first presented the award in 1977. For that year and that year only, it was presented to three adults and three youth. Currently, it is awarded to one youth and one adult annually.


Below are some of the previous recipients


Year Youth Recipient Adult Recipient
2016 Justin Schwab Tracy Price
2016 Carter C. Harwell C. J. Mitchel
2015 Eric Ortiz Bill Thompson
2014 Richard Baker Jr. Drew Weigl
2013 Brandt Boudreaux Michael Marbert
2012 Chris Clegg Gene Fisher
2011 Patrick Garcia John T. Garcia
2010 Zachary Brailer Daniel Gwinn
2009 Douglas R. Massey, III Suellen Cermenaro
2008 Todd Garcia Harold Van Duyn
2007 Charles Magee Patsy Magee
2006 Jimmy O’Hara Rick Mann
2005 Kane Bonnete Greg Sewell
2004 Paul Plunkett Jim Waldron
2003 Joe Dorsey Dennis Moore
2002 Michael Gehrt Carl Jacobs
2001 Anand Suthar Jim Luhring
2000 Frank Toole Kent Plunkett
1999 Nick Williamson Jim O’Hara
1998 Eric Nelken Jerry Lindner
1997 Clayton Allport Terry Pearson
1996 John Hootman Joyce Widby
1995 Jay Widby Bill Charters
1994 Bill Wright Carey Crawford
1993 Mike Junkins Steve Hevel
1992 Jeff Puryear Jim Puryear
1991 Clarence Wright Greg Czech
1990 Mike Adams Carl Adams
1989 *Removed as Requested*
1988 Bill Klukas Robbie Valentine
1987 David Berlin Kenneth Black
1986 Chris Holz No Adult Recipient
1985 Robert Boquist No Adult Recipient
1984 Donald Canday, Jr Bob Grant
1983 Chip Grant Greg Francisco
1983 Adam Manfriedonia
1982 Paul Raines William Raines
1981 Kenneth Soule David Earnest
1980 Chuck Powell Jim Schofield
1979 Phil Draughton John Pierson
1978 Charles Ray Taylor Powell
1977 Jimmy Geer Calvin Benson
1977 Wally Shealy Jim Newman
1977 David Surrett Paul Whittle



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s